

Vol: 4, Issue: Fall, 2014

The Medical Student Research Journal (MSRJ) is the longest-running international academic journal in the United States authored, reviewed, edited, and published by medical students for medical students. It is dedicated to promoting the scientific achievements of medical students, teaching principles of peer and article review, and providing editorial, publishing and leadership learning experiences. Medical students worldwide are invited to submit manuscripts and serve as trained reviewers. The MSRJ publishes original research, case studies, editorials, research letters, reviews, and reflections that meet required standards, are authored by a medical student, and advance science. It is sponsored by the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine. Visit www.msrj.org and www.facebook.com/msrjchm for more information.

EDITORIAL BOARD

EXECUTIVE EDITORS

Jessica Wummel - MS4 and Jack Mettler - MS4

FOUNDING FACULTY ADVISOR

Clare Luz, Ph.D. (2007 - Present)

ADVISOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH

Mark Trottier, Ph.D. (2012 - Present)

SENIOR EDITORS

David Carr - MS4 Margaret Chi - MS4 Michelle Dwyer - MS4 Sahil Bobby Gambhir - MS4 Liza Gill - MS4 Caela Hesano - MS4 Patrick Roach - MS4 Kailyne Van Stavern - MS4 Tina Chaalan - MS3 Alexander Golec - MS3 Romina Kim - MS3 Ghadear Shukr - MS3 Timothy Smith - MS3 Kaitlyn Vitale - MS3 Mey Yip - MS3

JUNIOR EDITORS

Masaki Nagamine - MS2 Johnathan Kao - MS3 Amir Pakray - MS2 James Polega - MS2 Rama Salhi - MS3 Apoorva Aekka - MS2 . Toomas Arusoo - MS2 Mahnoor Rehman - MS2 Andrew Benintende - MS2 Garrett Roe - MS2 Joginder Singh - MS2 Trevor Carle - MS2 Tyler Junttila - MS2 Nadine Talia - MS2 BG TenBrink- MS2 Michael Klinger - MS2 Regina Matar - MS2 Jennifer Monacelli - MS2 Samantha Wu - MS2 Daniel Ziazadeh - MS2

EDITORIAL STAFF

STUDENT REVIEWERS

Apoorva Aekka
Andrew Bentintende
Lucas Deschenes
Matthew Edwards
Alex Golec
Pishoy Gouda
Israel Oluwaseyidayo Idris
Johnathan Kao
Michael Klingler
Marissa Martz

Evan Milton Jennifer Monacelli Ahmed Negida James Polega Michael Rezaee Patrick Roach Joginder Singh Nadine Talia Kaitlyn Vitale

FACULTY REVIEWERS

Faculty reviewer credits will be published once per volume (year) to protect the double-blind reviews. The next recognition of faculty reviewers will be in the Fall issue of Volume 4.

EXECUTIVE EDITOR ALUMNI

Andrew Wyman, M.D.

Emergency Medicine, Carolina's Medical Center '14 Executive Editor Emeritus, Founder (2007–2011)

Steven Plato, M.D.

Integrated Vascular Surgery, UH/Case Western Reserve '17 Executive Editor Emeritus, Founder (2007–2011)

Marissa Baca, M.D.

Plastic Surgery, GRMEP/MSU '18 Executive Editor (2011–2012)

Chad Klochko, M.S., M.D.

Diagnostic Radiology, Henry Ford Health System '18 Executive Editor (2012–2013)

David Ortiz, M.D.

Neurology, University of Minnesota '17 Executive Editor (2012–2013)

Kevin C. Patterson, M.D.

Internal Medicine, Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center '17 Executive Editor (2013–2014)

EDITOR ALUMNI

David Hobbs, M.D. (2011–2012) Jon Zande, M.D. (2011–2014) Skyler Johnson, M.D. (2011–2014)

SPECIAL THANKS

Marsha Rappley, M.D., Dean, College of Human Medicine
Aron Sousa, M.D., Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Jeffrey Dwyer, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement
David Solomon, Ph.D., Professor, Office of Medical Education Research and Development
Geri Kelley, Communications Director
Michigan State University, College of Human Medicine, Office of Research
Jincy Joby at Datapage.ie

